Stop, think, respond

Standard

Image

Ever find yourself reacting to a person, situation, place, rather than responding? I sure do. Some people just push my buttons and get my back up straight away. Sometimes I’m not so good at taking feedback so I’ll jump straight in to protection/blame mode. Sometimes I’ll feel uncomfortable in a space and I’ll just want to run and get the hell out of there regardless of the reason I’m there in the first place.

When I was working in a corporate environment I often had to give performance appraisals. I used to always find it perplexing that people would be so scared of this process and not find it an opportunity to receive praise, learn and plan their own development with the support of a manager. However, when it came to my own appraisal I’d go in feeling confident but as soon as I was provided with constructive criticism I’d get very defensive and try to excuse myself out of whatever issue was brought to light. This was not a good look. It also provided me with no opportunity to listen or learn because I was so focused on my reaction.

I think we often find ourselves reacting to things without thinking about the consequences. We just go straight in to fight or flight response rather than considering the situation with a level head and considering our response to ensure a good outcome. I had a client the other day talk about how whenever her partner raises a particular topic she just goes straight in to protection mode, becoming defensive and trying to push him away. Clearly the result of this type of reaction will not lead to a sensible considered discussion. It does not provide the other party with an opportunity to really explain and express themselves and it just makes us uptight and angry when perhaps the alternative is not so bad.

My experience in life and business has really shown me that if we can take a step back, identify our feelings and respond appropriately then we can build better relationships, display our emotional intelligence and show others that there are better ways to handle ‘potential’ conflict. I say potential because really if we just react we will find that an agreed outcome is difficult to achieve. If we learn to gain awareness around our reactions and start responding to what happens then there is a far less likely chance of conflict.

So now when I’m provided with feedback I try to take a different approach. I allow the person to finish what they are saying; I hear them out and try to understand things from their perspective. This gives me all the information I need to know and I can then respond appropriately. This isn’t to say that sometimes we don’t need to protect ourselves but by allowing the time to assess and process we remove the urge to try to control and direct things in our own favour. This provides an opportunity for learning as well as connecting with the other person involved. It shows respect to everyone and allows ideas to evolve harmoniously and at the right pace.

If you want more information on how Make Hay coaching can help you gain greater awareness and learn to manage your emotions then check out my website http://www.makehay.com.au.

One thought on “Stop, think, respond

  1. nataliasarahcomms

    Thanks for this, Tanya! There are definitely times when I ‘react’ rather than respond and doing so prevents me from benefiting from constructive criticism. A great reminder to take a step back and consider the situation.

Leave a Reply

